Stay Connected

Canada will now require temperature screenings for all passengers traveling to the country or travelers departing Canadian airports for either international or domestic destinations, Minister of Transport Marc Garneau announced.

Under the new rule, air operators must conduct temperature screenings at the point of departure for flights to Canada, unless the local authority has an equivalent measure in place. Within Canada, Canadian Air Transport Security Authority screeners will conduct the temperature screening as part of departure screening procedures beginning June 30.

“We have already introduced measures to reduce the risk of the spread of COVID-19, including mandating face coverings, and publishing health guidance for the air industry,” Garneau said. “Mandatory temperature screenings are yet another measure in our multi-layered approach to help protect the safety of the traveling public and air industry workers.”

By September 2020, temperature screening stations will be in place in the departure sections of the next 11 busiest airports in Canada, including Toronto – Billy Bishop (YTZ), Winnipeg International (YWG) and Edmonton International (YEG) airports.

Canadian carriers such as Air Canada, Westjet, Perimeter, Bearskin, Keewatin and CalmAir have independently elected to pilot the implementation of passenger temperature screening.

Officials added that countries like Italy, Poland, Chile, Mexico, China, South Korea, and India have implemented required temperature screening protocols for travelers at certain airports, while other nations, including Belgium, France and Spain, are recommending temperature screening.